2024-2025 CLIME Clinical Teaching Certificate Programs Open For Registrations!

CLIME Clinical Teaching Certificate Programs Now Open for Registration!

The CLIME Clinical Teaching Certificate program is designed to strengthen teaching skills, foster a shared mental model of excellent teaching, and increase professional satisfaction for faculty who teach in the clinical setting. All faculty who teach are encouraged to register, whether they are new faculty or have decades of experience. Past participants have taught in various clinical settings, including the operating room,emergency department, hospital wards and outpatient clinics in many specialties. Contact clime@uw.edu with questions.

Clinical Teaching Certificate

Advanced Clinical Teaching Certificate

What is it: The CLIME Clinical Teaching Certificate program is designed to help teachers maximize learning in the clinical environment. UW Faculty within the WWAMI region who provide clinical teaching for students, residents, or fellows will benefit from this program.

What is it: The CLIME Advanced Clinical Teaching Certificate Program is for graduates of the Clinical Teaching Certificate Program. The Advanced Certificate provides further training and practice with challenging topics and difficult clinical teaching scenarios.

What to expect: Certificate requirements include attendance of six live online sessions and completion of six online modules. The modules include additional independent learning activities. Certificates can be earned by completing the requirements over a single year or over multiple years

What to expect: Advanced Certificate sessions are also offered online with six live sessions and feature more interaction and discussion in smaller groups. The Advanced Certificate can be completed over multiple years, but we recommend completing it in one year, if possible.

Register for the Clinical Teaching Certificate

All UW affiliated faculty welcome!

Register for the Advanced Clinical Teaching Certificate

All Clinical Teaching Certificate graduates welcome!

2024-2025 Clinical Teaching Certificate Schedule (CME Accredited)

The University of Washington School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

 The University of Washington School of Medicine designates this other activity for a maximum of 18 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

*This activity includes 2 hours of live content, followed by 1-hour online learning component. In order to receive your credit, completion of all components must be done.

Learning Climate

Addie McClintock, MD

Tuesday, October 8, 2024

9:00am-11:00am (PT)
8:00am-10:00am (AKT)
10:00am-12:00pm (MT)

Understanding and Retention

Laura Goodell, MD
Kathryn Lowe, MD

Thursday, November 14, 2024

9:00am-11:00am (PT)
8:00am-10:00am (AKT)
10:00am-12:00pm (MT)

Teaching Efficiently

Somnath Mookherjee, MD

Tuesday, January 14, 2025

9:00am-11:00am (PT)
8:00am-10:00am (AKT)
10:00am-12:00pm (MT)

Feedback

Katherine Michaelsen, MD, MASc
Elizabeth Schackmann, MD

Tuesday, March 18, 2025

9:00am-11:00am (PT)
8:00am-10:00am (AKT)
10:00am-12:00pm (MT)

Assessment

Alan Yang, MD
Tomoko Sairenji, MD
Jeanne Cawse-Lucas, MD

Friday, May 9, 2025

9:00am-11:00am (PT)
8:00am-10:00am (AKT)
10:00am-12:00pm (MT)

2024-2025 Advanced Clinical Teaching Certificate Schedule

The University of Washington School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The University of Washington School of Medicine designates this other activity for a maximum of 12 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

*Each live session is worth 2 credits

Racism and Bias

Michelle Terry, MD
Emily Myers, MD
Deepti Reddi, MD

Tuesday, October 8, 2024

1:00pm-3:00pm (PT)
12:00pm-2:00pm (AKT)
2:00PM-4:00pm (MT)

Communication Skills

Margaret Isaac, MD
Alexandra (Randi) Morrison, MD
Lauren Puryear, MS, CGC
Lindsay Gibbon, MD

Friday, November 15, 2024

1:00pm-3:00pm (PT)
12:00pm-2:00pm (AKT)
2:00PM-4:00pm (MT

Humanistic Approach

Meghan Kiefer, MD
Jeff Krimmel-Morrison, MD

Tuesday, January 14, 2025

1:00pm-3:00pm (PT)
12:00pm-2:00pm (AKT)
2:00PM-4:00pm (MT)

Learners in Difficulty

Fiona Gallahue, MD
Emily Grossniklaus, MD
Vince Raikhel, MD

Friday, February 14, 2025

1:00pm-3:00pm (PT)
12:00pm-2:00pm (AKT)
2:00PM-4:00pm (MT)

Challenging Feedback

Katherine Michaelsen, MD, MASc
Elizabeth Schackmann, MD

Tuesday, March 18, 2025

1:00pm-3:00pm (PT)
12:00pm-2:00pm (AKT)
2:00PM-4:00pm (MT)

Meaningful Assessment

Tomoko Sairenji, MD
Justin Bullock, MD, MPH

Friday, May 9, 2025

1:00pm-3:00pm (PT)
12:00pm-2:00pm (AKT)
2:00PM-4:00pm (MT)